AT91SAM9263, USB CDC Serial, and Win CE

This forum is for users of Atmel's SAM Series and who are interested in using WinCE OS.

Moderator: nferre

jjones@msa

AT91SAM9263, USB CDC Serial, and Win CE

Thu Mar 11, 2010 8:48 pm

I have an AT91SAM9263 evaluation kit with the Adeneo BSP. I have gone through a lot of the demos just for the chip (no OS) and I understand what is going on with the peripherals. I am new to Win CE 6.0 but I understand the stream driver architecture (which seems to be the way you access most of the peripherals on the board) from my Win32 experience of days gone by. What I would like to do is be able to connect the board up to a PC and have it be recognized as a virtual COM port so we can write data to it easily. I was able to get the bare-metal demo to work but I have a few questions about the implementation in WinCE I hope someone can answer:

1. Does the Adeneo BSP come with everything I need to do this right out of the box? If so, are there instructions somewhere?
2. If not, does that mean I have to write a stream driver to open, close, read, and write to the port?
3. Which dll/sys file should I be using on the host side, usbser.sys?
4. Where does the code live to recognize when the USB cable is plugged in? Is that part of the driver or does that need to be part of the boot loader?

Thanks to anyone that can answer some of the questions I have.

Jonathan
jjones@msa

Re: AT91SAM9263, USB CDC Serial, and Win CE

Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:53 pm

I was able to figure it out. A couple of things:

1. All the source code that you need to get the evaluation board to be recognized as a virtual serial port is included in the BSP.
2. You don't have to turn ActiveSync off but I found it is best to do so. If you setup the VID/PID for the USB device properly it will get recognized as an AT91 Virtual COM port but I turned it off anyway.