SAMV71 Xplained Ultra + Atmel Studio, debug watch fails

AT91EB40A, EB55, EB42 Evaluation Boards , AT91RM9200-DK, RM3400-DK will be the focus of the discussions: hardware guidance, embedded software, use,...

Moderator: nferre

MGen

SAMV71 Xplained Ultra + Atmel Studio, debug watch fails

Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:18 pm

Hi ARM people!

I am new to ARM world but will going to like it. :) My forthcoming project require such an MCU like SAMV70/E70/S70, so I have ordered this eval. board and started reading the docs.
I am getting started using C for an MCU, previously I've used 8-bit AVRs fully in assembly (very large code). I use C/C++ for over 15 years on PC (as well as asm), the problem is not this one.

Everything is clear, works, except one thing with Atmel Studio 6.2. If I compile and debug an app. (either in flash or in SRAM), my variables on stack are wrong, wrongly displayed by the AS. Disassembly code and processor view shows the right value but the memory view and watch windows. (They show the same wrong value.) The address of the variable is ok accoring to the processor view.
I don't really like to enter disassembly window every time to identify and check my variables' value. :/
Have this happened to any of You?

I use ARM GNU toolchain and use the EDBG interface for debugging, Atmel Studio 6.2.1563 SP2.
Please help, it's a pain step-by-step debugging without a working watch...
Thanks in advance!
meolsen

Re: SAMV71 Xplained Ultra + Atmel Studio, debug watch fails

Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:38 pm

This is an issue with how Studio 6.2 handled the dcache on the Cortex-M7. 

Try the 7.0 Beta (http://www.avrfreaks.net/forum/atmel-studio-70-beta) which should have a fix for that.
MGen

Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:28 pm

Hm. Thought the data cache is quite "transparent" for the debug unit of the MCU. But it sounds as a valid cause... Thanks a lot, I'm gonna try AS 7.0 beta! :)
MGen

Thu Jul 02, 2015 10:06 pm